Chesapeake Bay Foundation (Norfolk, VA)


  • Name:Kate Wilson
  • Title:Major Gift Officer - Hampton Roads

Organization Address

  • Organization Name:Chesapeake Bay Foundation
  • Address:142 W. York St.
    Suite 618
    Norfolk, VA 23507
    United States

Organization Phone

  • Main phone:757-622-1964
  • Main fax:757-622-7861

Organization Web

User Address

  • Address:Philip Merrill Environmental Center
    6 Herndon Ave.
    Annapolis, MD 21403
    United States

User Email


Click map for a full size active view.


  • Mission:
  • CBF is the only non-profit organization existing solely to restore the Chesapeake Bay — North America’s largest estuary and a national treasure. Since 1967, CBF’s motto, Save the Bay®, has defined our purpose to the 17 million people who live in the 64,000 square-mile watershed that spans six states (New York, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, and Virginia) and District of Columbia. Our mission is to restore and sustain the Bay’s ecosystem by substantially improving the water quality and productivity of the rivers and streams that flow to the Bay with respect to water clarity, resilience of the system, and diversity and abundance of its living resources, and to maintain a high quality of life for the people of the Bay region. Our two principal goals are to improve water quality by reducing pollution and to train constituents to take an active role in the restoration and protection of the Bay.

  • History:
  • In more than 40 years of fighting to save the Bay, CBF has:
    - improved the Bay's overall health since its low in 1983, reversing 300 years of decline.
    - Championed the successful restoration of striped bass and blue crab populations in the Chesapeake Bay.
    - Reduced pollution by helping secure more than $3 billion in new state and federal government investments in storm and wastewater treatment facility upgrades and agricultural pollution reduction.
    - Forced government accountability and pollution reduction by using litigation when necessary.
    - Planted nearly 100 million oysters on 154 reef sites in the Bay watershed with the help of more than 4,000 volunteers.
    - Educated more than 1 million students and teachers through award-winning, in-the-field, scientific investigation.
    - Restored more than 9,000 acres of wetlands and nearly 30,000 acres of forested riparian buffer on agricultural lands in Maryland, West Virginia, Virginia, and Pennsylvania by planting over 3.3 million trees, through public and private partnerships and with the help of approximately 1,000 volunteers each year.

  • Year established:1967
  • Endowment:Unknown


  • Executive / Trustee board size:30
  • Advisory board size:46
  • Staff size:174

Board and Executive Names

  • Board Members / Trustees:
    D. Keith Campbell (Chairman)
    James E. Rogers (Vice Chairman)
    Susan S. Phillips (Secretary)
    Alan L. Wurtzel (Treasurer)
    William C. Baker (President)
    Jane P. Batten
    Donald F. Boesch, Ph.D.
    W. Russell G. Byers, Jr.
    John T. Casteen III
    Amanda Deaver
    Richard L. Franyo
    G. Waddy Garrett
    Alan R. Griffith
    Carolyn Groobey
    Ann Fritz Hackett
    Michael J. Hanley
    Robert A. Kinsley
    Matthew J. Klein
    Byron F. Marchant
    H. Turney McKnight
    Charles W. Moorman, IV
    W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr.
    Marie W. Ridder
    Alexis G. Sant
    Truman T. Semans
    Simon Sidamon-Eristoff
    Jennifer Stanley
    Rt. Rev. Bishop Eugene Taylor Sutton
    Anthony A. Williams
    Peter L. Woicke

  • Executive Director / President:
  • William C. Baker, President

Staff Names

  • Key Staff:
  • William C. Baker, President
    Fay R. Nance, Chief Financial Officer
    Charles D. Foster, Chief of Staff
    Edward Allenby, Vice President-Development
    Don Baugh, Vice President-Environmental Education
    Elizabeth Buckman, Vice President-Communications
    Roy Hoagland, Vice President-Environmental Protection & Restoration
    Jon A. Mueller, Vice President-Litigation
    Mary Tod Winchester, Vice President-Administration
    Kim Coble, Maryland Executive Director
    Matthew J. Ehrhart, Pennsylvania Executive Director
    Ann Jennings, Virginia Executive Director
    Deborah L. Boyd, Director of Human Resources


  • Organization type:Grantseeker
  • Country of registration:United States
  • Tax Determination Letter:Received Determination Letter
  • IRS Section:501(c)(3)
  • IRS Subsection:509(a)(1)
  • Tax ID:52-6065757

Other Organization Web

IRS Business Master File Information

  • EIN:526065757
  • Sort (Secondary) Name:
  • Care Of Name:
  • Organization Address:6 HERNDON AVE
  • Organization City:ANNAPOLIS
  • Organization State:MD
  • Organization Zip:21403-4503
  • Group Exemption Number:0000
  • Subsection Code:03
  • Classification Code(s):1, 2, 8
  • Subsection/Classification Desc.:Charitable Organization, Educational Organization, Scientific Organization
  • Affiliation Code:3
  • Ruling Date:April, 1966
  • Deductibility Code:1
  • Foundation Code:15
  • Foundation Code Desc.:Organization which receives a substantial part of its support from a governmental unit or the general public 170(b)(1)(A)(vi)
  • Activity Code(s):161, 180, 350
  • Activity Code Desc.(s):Scientific research (diseases), Contact or sponsored scientific research for industry, Preservation of natural resources (conservation)
  • Organization Code:1 (Corporation)
  • Exempt Org. Status Code:01 (Unconditional Exemption)
  • Tax Period:June, 2016
  • Filing Requirement Category:01 (990 (all other) or 990EZ return)
  • Accounting Period:June
  • NTEE Code:C320
  • Asset Amount:$106,570,069
  • Asset Code:9 ($50,000,000+)
  • Income Amount:$39,943,710
  • Income Code:8 ($10,000,000 - $49,999,999)
  • 990 Revenue Amount:$26,071,416
  • Last Updated:2/18/2018 11:58:02 am

This information is directly from the IRS Exempt Organization Business Master File at Exempt Organizations Business Master File Extract. This information is not under the control of the Common Grant Application and is collected and compiled and can only be changed by the IRS.