Community Action (St. Paul, MN)


  • Name:Ms. Cheryl Lowe
  • Title:Senior Director

Organization Address

  • Organization Name:Community Action
  • Address:450 Syndicate Street N
    Suite 35
    St. Paul, MN 55104
    United States

Organization Phone

  • Main phone:651-603-4554
  • Main fax:651-603-5925

Organization Web

User Phone

  • Direct phone:651-603-5927

User Email


Click map for a full size active view.


  • Mission:
  • Community Action Partnership of Ramsey & Washington Counties' mission is to mobilize community resources to reduce poverty.

  • History:
  • Community Action Partnership of Ramsey & Washington Counties (Community Action) was established in 1964 as part of the War on Poverty. Community action agencies nationwide became the local service delivery arms of the federal Office of Economic Opportunity. They are effective in mobilizing resources to address poverty through a national, non-partisan effort which is carried out with continuous community support and commitment.

    Community Action’s Board of Directors, which consists of members from the public, private, and community sectors, work together with staff to voice the issues of low-income people and provide avenues out of poverty for the citizens of Ramsey and Washington counties. Through our many partnerships, we focus and mobilize available local, state, private, and federal resources to address multiple needs. Our comprehensive approach addresses the causes and conditions of poverty as we administer a full range of coordinated programs designed to have a measurable impact.

  • Year established:1964
  • Endowment:Unknown


  • Executive / Trustee board size:15
  • Advisory board size:
  • Staff size:330

Board and Executive Names

  • Board Members / Trustees:
  • Abukar Ali, President
    Toni Carter, Ramsey County Commissioner
    Deanna Dorsey, Secretary
    Ken Gilchrist
    Jill Harmon, Vice President
    Shar Knutson
    Juliana Martiganacco
    Jan Parker, Ramsey County Commissioner
    Harold Purtell
    Janice Rettman, Ramsey County Commissioner
    Victoria Reinhardt, Ramsey County Commissioner (Alternate)
    Patrick Singel, Treasurer
    Janelle Taylor
    Peggy Yusten
    (1 seat currently vacant)

  • Executive Director / President:
  • Kirk Hayes, Interim Executive Director

Staff Names

  • Key Staff:
  • Cheryl Lowe, Senior Director
    Robert Daniels, Chief Financial Director


  • Organization type:Grantseeker
  • Country of registration:United States
  • Tax Determination Letter:Received Determination Letter
  • IRS Section:501(c)(3)
  • Tax ID: